The Carmel River Inn was built in 1934, when the first 14 cabins were constructed on the site adjacent to the Carmel River Bridge, The original name was Rio Carmelo Motor Court. From 1941 to 1962, 10 additional cottages were added and, in 1960, a two-story motel building with 19 rooms was constructed.
An Italian restaurant named Domenici’s was operated onsite from 1965 to 1974. You can still see the wine bottles that they stuck in the side of the levy behind what is now the housekeeping department.
Presently, Carmel River Inn houses 19 basic guest rooms, and 21 cottages, each uniquely designed to provide a cozy, quiet respite from the rest of the world.
Located at the entrance of Big Sur, Carmel River Inn not only provides a breathtaking view of one of the most beautiful landscapes in the country, but it also provides guests a base camp to explore the great outdoors, or spend the day shopping or enjoying the local fare in nearby Carmel.